Travels and Books

As a teenager, I looked around my parents’ house for something to read. Nothing. I mentioned my dilemma to my sister, who showed me her book, The Crystal Cave, by Mary Stewart. I was like, hmmm, because I didn’t read fantasy; however, the book was about King Arthur and Merlin, so I gave it a shot.

I loved the book. I read her entire Merlin series.

After college, my friend and I decided to share a two-bed apartment closer to our jobs. One Saturday, I looked for something to read. In the living room, her TV sat on top of a short bookcase where she had shelved her books. I found Airs Above the Ground by Mary Stewart. Based on my liking her trilogy, I gave it a go.

Here’s a summary from Wikipedia: While having tea with her mother’s friend, Vanessa learns her husband, Lewis, whom she believes to be in Stockholm on business, appears in a newsreel story about a circus fire in Austria, his arm around a blonde girl. Carmel, assuming Vanessa will be joining Lewis, asks her to accompany her son Timothy, who wants to visit his divorced father in Vienna.

I loved the book. Mary Stewart transported me to circus life, Austria, and introduced me to the Royal Lipizzaner stallions of the Spanish Riding School in Vienna. A few years ago, Handsome and I traveled there and were able to tour the school and saw one of the famed horses. Bucket list!

I read more of Ms. Stewart’s books, including My Brother Michael: Camilla Haven is sitting in a cafe in Athens writing to her friend when a man appears with a message about a hired car for Delphi. Camilla hasn’t requested it, but no one else claims the car. She finds the temptation irresistible.

On the way, she meets Simon Lester, who is in Greece to learn more about the death of his brother Michael during WW2. Michael had written a letter home hinting at a significant discovery. Camilla becomes involved in the dangerous unraveling of the circumstances of Michael Lester’s death, as well as the rediscovery of an archeological treasure.

Wow. Wowowowowow.

I am going to blow what Michael’s treasure is—the Charioteer. Handsome and I were fortunate to tour Greece, and one day, we stopped at the museum in Delphi, the home of the Golden Charioteer. I couldn’t keep my eyes off of it. And this treasure was the one Mary Stewart wrote about. Thrilling! The characters’ finding of the statue brought forth my tears.

Mary Stewart’s books are favorites; however, one is particularly special—Madam, Will You Talk: Charity Selborne is on holiday in Provence with her friend, staying at the same hotel as David Shelley and his stepmother, Loraine Bristol. David’s father, Richard Byron, who has been accused of murder, is pursuing his son across France.

This book would be a great movie–the backdrop of Provence, the mystery, and the characters. Handsome and I will be visiting Avigon on a trip. We will see the Pont du Gard and the Papal Palace. Awesome!

So, why tell you about Mary Stewart’s books? I’ve read them many times and will read them again. Besides being very good romantic mysteries, Ms. Stewart compelled me to want to visit the places she described.

Have you visited places in books you’ve read? Is there someplace you want to go?

Here are three funny mysteries to indulge in over the summer!

Find the Hattie Cooks Mysteries at:

E-book: https://www.amazon.com/Temporarily-Luck-Hattie-Cooks-Mystery-ebook/dp/B08T7YSSRJ/

Print: https://www.amazon.com/Temporarily-Luck-Hattie-Cooks-Mystery/dp/1509233377/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=temporarily+out+of+luck&qid=1612803759&s=books&sr=1-1/

Barnes and Noble NOOK eBook: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/temporarily-out-of-luck-vicki-batman/1138678100?ean=2940162304227/

Barnes and Noble Paperback: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/temporarily-out-of-luck-vicki-batman/1138678100?ean=9781509233373/

The Book Depository Paperback: https://www.bookdepository.com/Temporarily-Out-Of-Luck-Vicki-Batman/9781509233373/

BAM! Books-A-Million Paperback: https://www.booksamillion.com/p/Temporarily-Out-Luck/Vicki-Batman/9781509233373/

Google Play eBook: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Vicki_Batman_Temporarily_Out_Of_Luck?id=7hEeEAAAQBAJ/

Kobo eBook: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/temporarily-out-of-luck/

Waterstones Paperback: https://www.waterstones.com/book/temporarily-out-of-luck/vicki-batman/9781509233373/

Target Print: https://www.target.com/p/temporarily-out-of-luck-a-hattie-cooks-mystery-by-vicki-batman-paperback/-/A-83285527#lnk=sametab

Apple Books: Temporarily Out Of Luck on Apple Books

Reviews:

-I loved it! It was a very entertaining and a fast read that kept me engaged throughout. The pacing was perfect. My only complaint is now I’m craving M&Ms and enchiladas. And donuts. And wedding cake. 

-I laughed. I wondered. Then I laughed some more. Every page of Temporarily Out of Luck delivers a satisfying story and heartfelt humor. Don’t miss this great read!

-Between a new job at a bridal shop, serving as her sister Tracey’s maid of honor, and learning to tango with hot cop Allan Wellborn, Hattie Cooks has her hands full. But when Tracey becomes the primary suspect in her ex-husband’s murder, Hattie knows it’s up to her to ensure her sister a happily ever after. Temporarily Out of Luck is the perfect pairing of romantic romp and cozy mystery.    

-Hattie Cooks has landed a great new job at Wedding Wonderland. With her sister Tracey poised to exchange nuptials, the timing couldn’t be better. And with sexy detective Allan Wellborn serving as the best man and Hattie as the maid of honor, the wedding promises to be an exciting event. Unfortunately, fate throws a monkey wrench in the happy couple’s plans when Tracey’s first husband, a cheater named Jonson Leggett the third, is found dead in the Super Saver parking lot. Can Hattie help clear her sister’s name in time for the big day? Readers will enjoy finding out in Temporarily Out of Luck.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Hey, Vicki. Oh, the memories you brought up. Loved Mary’s Stewart’s mysteries. I read all the fantasies but preferred the mysteries. She, Phyllis Whitney, and Victoria Holt were my go-to authors. And yes, I did feel like I’d visited the places these authors wrote about. Location becomes almost a character in my own books and I do hope readers feel they’ve been to some of the places. Loved your post and I shared. 🙂

    Like

We love to chat, just comment below. Please read the privacy statement in the menu regarding your privacy. Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.