Vicki Batman – Vintage Christmas

My mom was a crafty person. I don’t think she ever thought she couldn’t do something. I remember her making many Christmas things–a felt decorated tablecloth, sequined ornaments, Christmas stockings.

Something about appreciating handmade things has always been a part of me. So over many years, I have collected those things. When I began, I could pick them up for next to nothing. With the advent of ETSY and eBAY, those items are harder to find and the prices-wowee. For example:

I have made things of my own, too. I’ve stitched stockings, ornaments, and pillows in needlepoint and embroidered lap blankets, stockings, and pillows.

I like these treasures. Are you crafty around the holidays?

Holiday stories are fun and Sommerville holidays too is sure to tickle your funny bone.

Love blossoms in the small town of Sommerville in these heartwarming holiday tales, filled with fun and forever possibilities.

The Great Fruitcake Bake-off: When a five-time baking champion teams up with her new neighbor for The Great Fruitcake Bake-off, they discover baking a prize-winning entry is complicated, bad guys are plotting to take the crown, and first prize isn’t just about a ribbon.

Christmas Romeo: When two feuding co-workers win Christmas river cruises at the company holiday party, they discover each other isn’t so bad after all.

Twinkle Lights: When the owner of a Christmas tree stand has a heart attack, a do-gooder and a reformed high school delinquent turned lawyer meet the challenges of running the establishment; yet, when revenue goes missing, fingers are pointed.

Find your holiday ever after at: Amazon

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds delightful…Congrats Vicki! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Vicki Batman says:

      Thank you so much, Joanne. I love writing holiday stories. Hugs!

      Like

  2. Kathryn Jane says:

    I’m one of those “makers” of handmade, but have kept/collected very little. Mostly I sell it to pay for my own Christmas 😀
    Love the sound of your story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Vicki Batman says:

      Hi, Kathryn! I sold jewelry and cigar box handbags ages ago, but haven’t made anything to sell since because the items have been large and taken tons of time. Pillows, stockings, lap quilts take a minimum of nine months–mostly because I stitch at night and write during the day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey, Vicki. Yes, I’ve spent many hours making Crafty things for Christmas. The winter I was pregnant with our first daughter, I made a sequined tree skirt. It was a massive undertaking, but it graced the foot of our trees for twenty five-years until water from the tree spilled on it. Even then I couldn’t get rid of the skirt. And of course, I’ve made tons of ornaments for the tree. We still have two I made when I was 12. So yeah, while other than seasonal wreaths, I haven’t done much in many years. I still consider my self “crafty.” Of course, most of my creativity now goes into my writing. You, my dear, are super creative to do all you do. Beautiful work. And Kathryn’s painting…well, you guys make me feel a bit like a sluggard. 🙂 I’ve shared.

    Like

  4. Vicki Batman says:

    Hi Marsha! Oh i would live to see the sequined tree skirt. Ive bought vintage ones that are true treasures. I love making things. This year im sharing with family-big time! Happy holidays!!

    Like

We love to chat, just comment below. Please read the privacy statement in the menu regarding your privacy. Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.